La Prensa Texas was honored to be in attendance at The Southwest Voter Registration Education Project 2023 William C. Velasquez Dinner honoring and celebrating the 2023 SVREP Lifetime Achievement Award to Maria Antoinette Berriozabal, author, community leader, advocate for the undocumented, champion for women’s rights, environmental justice, and first Latina elected to the San Antonio City Council.

An array of Community Leaders were in attendance!

Thanks to Lydia Camarillo, Executive Director of SVREP, and her Staff for an incredible event. Speakers included U.S. Congressman Greg Casar, State Senator Jose Menéndez,
State Rep. Victoria Neave Criado and Mayor Ron Nirenberg.